Can You Use Temporary Vermont License Plates On Your Car?

  • 2 min read

When you use the Vermont title loophole, the Vermont DMV will send you temporary Vermont license plates along with your registration. One of the most common questions we get is if these Vermont license plates can be used on the vehicle before or in lieu of transferring the title to your state. Even though they’re registered to your vehicle and your name, do NOT put the temporary Vermont license plates on your car if you are not a Vermont resident.

Out-of-state plates are illegal after 30-90 days

When you move to another state, you’re required to transfer your license, license plates, and vehicle title to your new state. Typically this transfer process must be done within 30-90 days depending on your state before penalties can be imposed. After this time period, it’s technically illegal to drive around on plates that are not registered to the state where you primarily reside.

Why does this 30-90 day period impact using the temporary license plates on your vehicle?

Most people who are using the Vermont title loophole to get a new title are not Vermont residents and have lived in their current state for more than 30-90 days. If you’ve lived in the state for more than the time period, technically you can’t drive on out-of-state plates because, as a long-time resident, you don’t qualify for that exception.

If you can’t use the license plates, what is the purpose of the Vermont title loophole?

The purpose of this process is to be used as a stepping stone. The Vermont process is not designed to replace your state’s registration or license plates; it’s designed to provide valid evidence of ownership from a government agency to get a title for a vehicle that you own in your state. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *